Darkroom, Revisited

It is hard to believe it has been some 12 years since I last stepped into a dark room to develop black and white films and prints. Very recently, I was given the opportunity to re-visit this experience. I was assigned to teach Basic Photography which involved black and white film; and use of the dark room. Since I have long abandoned black and white film photography, to prepare myself to teach the class I borrowed an FM2 Nikon camera (for the unenlightened, this camera uses film) from the University to re-familiarize myself with this more original form of photography.

It felt good to be back in the dark room – together with the familiar smell of rapid fixer, a photography chemical. Here are some of the photos I shot with the FM2 and subsequently developed in the dark room.

photo

photo2

photo3

photo4

One thought on “Darkroom, Revisited

Leave a Reply

