2014

2014 Dataran Merdeka

2014 Dataran Merdeka

2014 Dataran Merdeka

2014 Dataran Merdeka

2014 Dataran Merdeka

 

Photos: Kamal Sellehuddin for Yahoo! Malaysia

I was at Dataran Merdeka in Kuala Lumpur on New Year’s eve. Instead of shooting New Year’s fireworks elsewhere, I decided to capture the new year’s eve protests organised by a coalition of NGOs led by Gerakan Turun Kos Sara Hidup (Turun). [These people are coming up with more memorable and catchier acronyms, that’s for sure!]

I reached Dataran Merdeka at 11.30pm where I learned from a friend working for a media institution that the Dataran Merdeka celebrations have been called off. [This was to my disappointment as I was looking forward to Amy Search’s performance]. The main stage was in complete darkness – all the lights had been shut off.

However together with thousands of others, I remained at Dataran Merdeka for the new year countdown. The crowd sang made-up songs and chanted ‘protests’ about the rising cost of living. Thankfully, the protestors peacefully dis-assembled at 1am without incident.

Thanks for reading my little story about how I spent the New Year.  Wishing everybody a Happy New Year. May this year be a wonderful and memorable year for everybody!!

For more photos and story, click here

Leave a Reply

